"Safe" Countries Will Be Able to Travel to Europe from July 1

Italy keeps quarantine rules in place as EU opens borders

EU excludes United States from 'safe' travel list

The EU may also add China to the list if it reaches a reciprocal agreement for European travellers with the Chinese government.

Despite the US being excluded from the list, US Secretary of State, Mike Pompeo, expressed hope that a solution may be found "in the following weeks", stating that it was "important for the United States that Europeans will be able to return and vice-versa". This means Canadians will be able visit 31 different European countries, starting as early as July 1. "We can't substitute that clientele with another".

The travel ban to the EU also does not affect European nationals and EU residents as well as their families.

The European Union re-opened on Wednesday to leisure or business travel from 14 countries beyond its borders based on their success in containing the coronavirus.

This means United States infection rates will need to dramatically drop if Americans are to be allowed entry to European countries, just as the European tourism industry enters what are traditionally its peak months.

Trump tweets video of supporters chanting "white power"
The president stirred up controversy Sunday morning when he retweeted a video that showed a supporter yelling "white power".

The U.S. was not included on the list.

The Louvre museum is scheduled to reopen July 6. Americans used to be the largest single group of visitors to the home of the Mona Lisa.

In the usa, places such as Texas, Florida and California are backtracking, closing beaches and bars in some cases amid a resurgence of the virus.

Almost three times the number of U.S. citizens visit Europe compared to Europeans traveling to the United States.

The United States is not on the list.

Coronavirus : les médecins libéraux choqués par les propos de Roselyne Bachelot
Roselyne Bachelot ferait mieux de se taire plutôt que de faire le clown devant la représentation nationale " , s'est-il emporté. Xavier Bertrand, qui a occupé le poste de 2005 à 2007 puis de 2010 à 2012, sera à son tour interrogé jeudi.

Last year, United got 38% of its passenger revenue from worldwide travel including 17% from flights between the USA and Europe, while Delta and American were slightly less dependent on those routes.

The EU's decision came on Tuesday, a day after Arizona Governor Doug Ducey issued an order to close bars, gyms, movie theatres and water parks, and officials in Republican and Democratic strongholds alike mandated the wearing of masks.

As well as the 27 member countries of the European Union, the travel restrictions also apply to Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland, which are not in the European Union but are members of the Schengen Area - a group that allows travel without a passport. Panic closures after the disease began spreading in Italy in February caused major traffic jams at crossing points and slowed deliveries of medical equipment.

The European Council said in their statement that in countries where travel restrictions still apply, EU citizens and their family members, long-term EU residents and their family members and travelers with an essential function or need are exempt from the travel ban. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

Covid-19: Oxford University's vaccine developers encouraged by results
If the trial is successful, it could start production in the first quarter of next year with a minimum 100 million doses. The vaccine, currently, is on a trial run in Brazil and is being tested on over 5,000 volunteers.

Latest News