U.S. Likely to Be Excluded From E.U.'s Travel List

Coronavirus EU set to reopen borders to 14 countries on 1 July

U.S. Likely to Be Excluded From E.U.'s Travel List

The full list of 14 countries is Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, and Uruguay.

As Europe prepares to reopen its borders, Nigeria has been excluded from the list of countries whose travelers could be received on July 1.

The sources also questioned that borders will be reopened by 1 July, as recommended to EU member-states by the European Commission earlier this month.

The Croatian EU presidency has, however, given member states to take a position on a list of countries likely to be allowed to enter the Schengen area as some member states has asked for more time to decide.

World Health Organization director-general once again warns of Covid-19 pandemic's acceleration
Secretary of State Mike Pompeo has said the virus may have originated in a laboratory; China vehemently denied that it did. Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus said on Monday that the coronavirus pandemic "is not even close to being over" .

"In eight of nine surveyed countries, the share of respondents who have adopted a more negative view of China in the past year has increased by a factor of two and a factor of 10", the report states.

Therefore, countries like the United States, Russia, India, and Brazil are set to be banned for the foreseeable future due to the coronavirus and their high infection rates.

Once that happens and the green light is given, restrictions on nonessential travel to Europe from the outside world, which were imposed in March to halt new virus cases from entering, would gradually be lifted.

Talks dragged on with some European Union members wanting to limit the reopening to countries with an epidemiological situation "comparable or better" than that in the bloc - that is with 16 or fewer cases of COVID-19 per 100,000 inhabitants over the past two weeks.

Egypt, Ethiopia and Sudan to agree Nile dam deal in weeks
On the UNSC , China-which has given $16 billion in loans to Ethiopia- has the most at stake in the dam's filling. The Egyptian presidency said in a statement after the summit that Ethiopia will not fill the dam unilaterally.

Tourists are seen by the Bridge of Sighs a day before Italy and neighbouring European Union countries open up borders for the first time since the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) outbreak hit the country, in Venice, Italy June 14, 2020.

Border control is ultimately decided by each member state rather than at an European Union level in Brussels.

However, today the list has changed and now it includes only 15 countries.

The commission explained coronavirus response in a country and the ability to apply containment measures during travel influenced their recommendations.

India bans TikTok as tensions with China escalate
The data has been accessed and profiled by the " elements hostile to national security and defense ", the ministry added. It has been noted recently that such concerns also pose a threat to sovereignty and security of our country.

Latest News