Yeddyurappa has his way in BJP's second list

Union minister of human resource development Prakash Javadekar addresses a press conference on the issue of Kathua and Unnao rape case at BJP headquarters in New Delhi on Sunday

Yeddyurappa has his way in BJP's second list

Unhappy with ticket distribution for the May 12 polls, several Congress workers ransacked the office and created mayhem - as a form of lodging their protest.

Soon after the Congress party made the list of its 218 candidates for the Karnataka Assembly elections public, Chief Minister Siddaramaiah's party is heading for a full-blown revolt.

Former chief minister B.S. Yeddyurappa, who is leading the BJP's charge in these elections, has been named in the alleged multi-million mining scam exposed by the former Lokayukta Santosh Hegde.

Salah nominé pour le joueur de l'année PFA — Premier League
Mais ce dernier a excellé lors des confrontations en Ligue des Champions entre son club de Liverpool et celui de Manchester City . Cette saison, Mohamed Salah a inscrit 40 buts toutes compétitions confondues.

While CM Siddaramaiah's stamp was evident in the Congress list, his request to contest from two seats - Chamundeshwari in Mysuru and Badami in Bagalkot district of north Karnataka - was turned down. The results will be out on May 15.

Followers of sitting Congress MLAs G H Srinivas (Tarikere), Manohar Tahasildar (Hangal) and H P Rajesh (Jagaluru ST reserved) hit the streets and shouted slogans against the party for not giving their leaders the ticket in their respective constituencies.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is trying hard to wrest power from the Congress to continue its winning streak in assembly elections.

NASA launches planet-hunting TESS spacecraft from Cape Canaveral
A new satellite, set to launch today, is expected to find thousands more planets outside of our solar system, known as exoplanets. When is the launch and how can I watch it? Since then, it was able to discover 2,000 exoplanets in the galaxy .

With former Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yeddiyurappa being the party's chief ministerial candidate, the saffron party is aiming for 150 seats out of 224 in Karnataka, the last major state being ruled by Congress with absolute majority. The second list of BJP comprises names of candidates from 82 constituencies. At least five father-son/daughter combinations got tickets, including Siddaramaiah and his son Yatindra. The party has also cleared the name of its Ballari MP and Molkalmuru declared candidate B Sriramulu's uncle Sanna Fakirappa to contest from Bellary rural constitiuency.

The JD (S) leader later went to Belavadi where he addressed a huge gathering at Maramma Circle along with Chamundeshwari candidate G. T. Devegowda, who will file his nomination on Apr.20.

"All 40 sitting legislators of the BJP have been re-nominated to contest". The new faces in the Congress list include Bengaluru Mayor R Sampath Raj.

Échauffourées entre jeunes et policiers dans le quartier du Mirail — Toulouse
Ce n'est qu'aux alentours de 23h, après plus de 3h d'affrontements, que les pompiers ont pu intervenir et mettre fin au sinistre. Ce prisonnier était en détention provisoire dans le cadre d'une affaire criminelle qui a eu lieu dans un autre département.

Former BBMP commissioner Siddaiah has been fielded from Sakaleshpur (SC) constituency, while former IAS officer Syed Zameer Pasha is the party nominee from Kolar.

Latest News